Orientation is kind of like Frosh Week…

… except instead of four years of school I only get to be with these wonderful, beautiful, passionate, interesting, like minded people for ONE WEEK! Then we will all fly to different volunteer positions in different places around the world.  Needless to say, there is a unique, exciting energy here! We come from so many different backgrounds – different countries, languages, ideas about development, levels of experience with service work, types and stages of education completed – but we all have this common thirst to learn to serve the way Jesus did so that our world can be just a litle bit better. Wow. I am so blessed to get to be with all these people at this exciting time of our lives!

I thought I was finally done with saying goodbye to my favourite people in the world… but now there are many more people to say goodbye to in a few days.  I want to keep living and learning with them!  At the same time though, a week of orientation seems like a while, when I have been imagining life in bolivia for so long. Some moments I feel I’m so close, I  just want to hurry up and get there!

Except for it’s all still quite overwhelming. Yikesers!

~ by Kimberlee on August 10, 2009.

One Response to “Orientation is kind of like Frosh Week…”

  1. Oh Kimmy!!! I love you so much!! Nice blog btw! 😉
    I had a dream two ngihts ago that you and I had our own appartment near grebel and we were moving in together and decorating it and it was SO awesome. And then i came home from a day of class and alina was over visiting with you and I was like wow, I love that when Kim has friends over, they are mine too! 🙂
    Oh boy, do you think I miss you girls??? LOL!
    K, you can do this GIRL. I am praying for you hardcore.

Leave a comment